printing press

Yesterday I went to the Cobblestone museum in Greytown and saw printing presses being used and I used one myself! I’m using the rest my Christmas money to buy a typewriter. Typewriters are a lot like printing presses, the stamps press against an ink band, when you press the keys the stamps press against the paper and that leaves a letter.

I found out that letters over time hadn’t changed that much but were quite different in Egyptian times.  The Egyptians used hieroglyphics that were pictograms/pictures.  The letters T and Z changed a lot but letters like E were just rotated over time.

here is a code

7H15 M3554G3

53RV35 70 PROV3

HOW M1ND5 C4N DO 4M4ZING 7H1NG5!

1MPR3551V3 7H1NG5!

1N 7h3 B3G1NN1NG 17 WA5 H4RD BU7

NOW, ON 7H15 LIN3

YOUR M1ND 1s

R34D1NG 17

4U70M471C4LLY

W17H OU7 3VV3N

7H1NK1NG 4BOU7 17

B3 PROUD! ONLY

C3R741N P30PL3 C4N

R3AD 7H15.

 

5 thoughts on “printing press

  1. A typewriter would be good fun Mindy. I remember the German chap in my Year 8 class who invented the printing press, although young Gutenberg did confess to me during interval that he got the idea from the Chinese. It shows you how modern technology has made our lives easier. When I was at school we had stone tablets and chisels. Some of my mates went on to be quite good at sculpture especially the Italian chap on a school exchange scheme from Italy – I think he was called Michael (can’t remember his last name – you’ll have to look it up) just like your Dad.

    Like

  2. Yes read it no problems. Can you get ribbons still for typewriters? What make of typewriter did you get. Pops wants a photo. He loves old machinery

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

